Balloon Cupcakes: SickKids Bake Sale

I was asked to make some cupcakes for an employee bake sale and wanted to share the balloon themed cupcakes that I made.

Fotor0513121021

At work, during the month of May, we collect donations for the SickKids Foundation through the Children’s Miracle Network. SickKids Foundation raises funds on behalf of The Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids) and is the largest charitable funder of child health research, learning and care in Canada.When you donate, you get to write your name on a yellow and red balloon to be displayed the store; this was my inspiration.

Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals logo

Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals logo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I started by making chocolate cupcakes and piped yellow and red frosting on them. I lined a cardboard box with foil paper and placed the cupcakes in a cluster around the top of the box. I cut out some clouds using white paper and placed them near the top (under the cupcakes), but they aren’t very visible. I used a glue gun to secure some ribbon coming out of the cupcakes at the bottom of the bunch to look like balloon strings. I gathered all of the ribbons together at the bottom in a cluster and glued them down. I placed a tiny dab of glue from the glue gun on the bottom of the cupcake wrapper to secure the cupcakes, ensuring they wouldn’t slide around and get ruined during transportation.  I filled in the spaces between the cupcakes with cupcake shaped Belgian chocolates to make the “bunch of balloons” look fuller. I glued two of the inspirational balloons at the bottom, on either side of the bunch of strings to add more decoration . They also function as labels.

Fotor051312156

I also made a batch of vanilla cupcakes for the SickKids bake sale and decorated them as chrysanthemum flowers using the Children’s Miracle Network colours (red, yellow and orange). I already have a blog post that on how to make chrysanthemum cupcakes, with simple instructions and photographs, that you can read here: https://sillyrabbit99.wordpress.com/2013/04/27/chrysanthemum-cupcakes/

Fotor0513121614

I was pressed for time to make the cupcakes, and I think I would change a few things the next time I decide to make “balloon cupcakes”, but overall I think they turned out nicely for a first try. I received a ton of lovely compliments from co-workers and the cupcakes were a hit at the bake sale. The best part was that  all of the money went to a wonderful foundation.

As always, please feel free to like, share, leave a comment/suggestion/feedback, or send me an e-mail at sillyrabbitblog@gmail.com

Have a wonderful day!

P.S. If you look closely at the last photograph, you can see an actual silly rabbit in the upper right hand corner. She is the inspiration behind the name of the blog.

Leave a comment