March 2015 Birchbox Canada

Ahoy hoy,

My March Birchbox showed up on my doorstep yesterday and I was pleasantly surprised  when I opened it up. Birchbox is a monthly beauty subscription service that includes five beauty samples. The box costs $10 a month plus $4.95 shipping in Canada. If you are interested in learning more about Birchbox and/or signing up for your very own subscription click here! The March 2015 theme is creativity and I really like 4 of the 5 products I received. I hate perfume samples and wish they would stop including them in my box, but everything else tickles my fancy, although there is a bit of confusion in regards to the beauty blender.

march birchbox

Beautyblender
What: Pro-favourite sponge for smooth, natural-finish foundation (plus cleanser to keep it clean)
How: Stipple on foundation with dampened sponge. Get extra sponges for your multistep routine
Full size: not available on birchbox- product info card lists the beautyblender double as $35
Initial thoughts: I have a beautyblender and enjoy using it when I (rarely) apply foundation. It is nice to have a back-up/spare and I’m excited to try the cleanser, because I usually use baby shampoo to wash mine.
* While searching the Birchbox website to find a link to the product I discovered that they do not list the product I actually received.  Birchbox only had the double beauty blender and the beautyblender bff listed and available for sale on the website, while I received the original beautyblender and blendercleanser solid.  Looking back at my product info card it says I should have received the beauty blender double. Seeing as I already own an original beautyblender it would have been nice to try the smaller versions like the double or bff. I don’t mean to sound like I’m complaining, because I like the product I received, but I am very confused as to why I received a different product than listed on my info card and even more confused as to why the product I received isn’t even listed or available on the site. Strange. Has anybody else had this issue?

Fekkai PrXX Reparatives Conditioner
What: Hardworking, lightweight formula that repairs fried or worn-out hair by boosting keratin
How: After shampooing, work through wet hair, focusing on the ends. Rinse well
Full size: $28 for 8 oz
Sample size: $7 for 2 oz
Initial thoughts: This product smells nice and I’ve heard good things about the brand Fekkai, so I’m excited to give this argan extract product a try.

Harvey Prince Ageless Perfume
What: This grapefruit-sandalwood blend leaves skim smelling youthful
How: Apply to pulse points for instant freshness (and a spring in your step)
Full size: $62 for 50 ml
Sample size: The sample does have a size indicated on it, so I can’t determine the value of the sample size
Initial thoughts: I don’t wear perfume and hate getting perfume samples. I actually spritzed this perfume sample onto the card because I thought the grapefruit might smell nice, but this honestly smells like old lady to me. Not impressed.

Mirenesse Mattfinity Lip Rouge in New York
What: Velvety colour with a modern matte finish. No need for lip liner: this stain stays put
How: Glide wand over lips. Wear as is for bright colour, or blot for a subtler look
Full size: $29 for 7 g
Sample size: $7.04 for 1.7 g
Initial thoughts: The colour is a beautiful coral red and matte lips are very popular right now. Although I do not wear a lot of lip products, I will definitely wear this for a special occasion or a night out. So far, I swatched it on my hand and the staining power is very impressive and the product smells good too!

miraness

 

Paula’s Choice RESIST Barrier Repair Moisturizer with Retinol
What: This hydrator uses retinol to firm skin, smooth fine lines, fade spots, and even tone
How: Apply to clean, dry skin on face, neck, and eye area. Follow with spf in the daytime
Full size: $36 for 50 ml
Sample size: $10.80 for 15 ml
Initial thoughts: Jackpot! I love skin care products and have been wanting to try out something from Paula’s Choice for a while. I hope I receive more products like this in the future!

Overall, I’m impressed with my box this month. I hope I continue to receive skin care products and hopefully they will stop with the annoying perfume samples. What did you receive in your March birchbox? Let me know in the comments below!

xo Tasha

3 thoughts on “March 2015 Birchbox Canada

  1. Nice box this month! I love the beauty blender and I used to wash it with baby shampoo but it took forever to get the lather out so now I use Dove bar soap and it cleans faster and better. And that lip stain looks amazing, it’s prefect for spring!

  2. Pingback: April 2015 Birchbox Canada | Silly Rabbit

  3. Pingback: May 2015 Birchbox Canada | Silly Rabbit

Leave a Reply

