DIY: How to mount a photo to canvas

Ahoy hoy!

Displaying artwork and photographs around your home can be quite expensive. Choosing between framing, plaking, canvases, metal prints etc. can be difficult and it can take a long time to figure out how you want to display your favourite art and/or photos. I decided that I wanted a canvas print of my husband and I from our wedding day to display in our home.  A good friend told me that she made her own DIY canvas prints and that DIYing it costs a fraction of the price compared to having a canvas custom ordered from a store. I gave it a shot and my canvas turned out beautifully. It is proudly displayed in my home and I can’t wait to make more once baby arrives!

* I lost some of the photos I took during the DIY process, so the photo will change from me and my husband to a family shot that I made for my parents as a gift. Sorry.

 

what u need

What you need:

  • a canvas
    -Smaller size canvases such as 5×7 and 8×10 can be found at the dollar store. Larger canvases can be found online and in craft stores, just check for coupons and sales to get the best prices!
  • a photograph or print
  • matte mod podge
  • sponge brush
  • acrylic paint
  • paint brush

Step 1: Using your paint brush, paint the outer edges of your canvas using acrylic paint in a colour that compliments your photo. Take the paint about an inch onto the front of the canvas to ensure there are no white spaces between your print and the edge colour. You can skip this step and leave the canvas blank if you would prefer plain white edges. Another possibility is covering the edges with washi tape or even fabric. This is totally customizable!

017 halloween 007

 

Step 2: Allow the paint to dry and then use a foam brush to apply a thin layer of mod podge over the paint along the sides of the canvas. This will help protect the paint and ensure that the finish of the canvas is uniform. This step is not necessary and can be skipped, but I personally prefer a uniform finish.

halloween 009

 

Step 3: Use your foam brush and apply a thick, even layer of mod podge over the entire front area of your canvas. Try and work quickly because mod podge does dry quickly.

halloween 010

 

Step 4: Stick your photo onto your mod podge covered canvas. Press down firmly to ensure the photo is attached and smooth out to ensure there are no air bubbles. If your photo is larger then the canvas, you can use an exact-o knife to trim the edges so they line up with the canvas at this point.

 

canvas 1

Step 5: Apply long, even, thin coats of mod podge over the surface of the photo with a foam brush. Make sure you smooth out any globs or smears, especially on faces. I extend the mod podge over onto the edges to ensure that the photo is completely sealed in. The strokes are what give the photo a textured appearance and make it look almost painted. If you want even more texture, take another clean canvas and press on top while the modge podge is still wet to transfer some texture.

canvas 2

Step 6: Let dry. Once dry, you can display your new art work!

blog nov 001

 

Mounting a photo to canvas is super easy to do, takes very little time and can be done for under $5 depending on the size. It is a great way to display your photographs and create a wall of art inexpensively. These also make great gifts. Another thing I love is that if you get bored of a particular photo, you can recycle the canvas and mod podge a new photo over top.

Let me know if you have any questions or any of your own tips and tricks! If you give this a try, leave me a comment and let me know how it turns out!

xo Tash

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

