February 2015 Birchbox Canada

Ahoy hoy!

I hope that everyone is enjoying the month of February and had a great Valentine’s day! There is a crazy amount of snow where I live and it is currently -18 degrees Celsius. BRRR! Today, I’m going to be sharing what I received in my February 2015 Birchbox Canada subscription. Birchbox is a monthly beauty subscription service that includes five beauty samples. The box costs $10 a month plus $4.95 shipping in Canada. You can purchase your box in bundles to save a little and can even gift subscriptions. You can also purchase full-sized products on their website if you enjoy the samples! If you are interested in learning more info and/or signing up for your very own subscription click here!

feb birchbox

I enjoyed my first box in December, did not like my second box in January, and this box falls somewhere in between. I wasn’t disappointed with this box, but I also wasn’t impressed if that makes sense. The box itself is a bright orange colour with pink speech bubbles on it. The theme of this box is celebrating friendship and “calling your buddies” during the month of February. I have included links to all of the products, the information that comes on the info card, the full price, what the sample is worth, and wrote some of my initial thoughts about the products below!

feb bb

Whish Exfoliating Body Wash
What: Packed with brightening botanicals, this scrub smooths the way to fresh, silky skin
How: Lather up from head to toe, then rinse with warm water
Full size: $24.50 for 6 oz
Sample size: $3.06 for 0.75 oz sample
Initial thoughts: I enjoy the coconut smell of this product and will definitely give this a try.

N.4 Clarifying Shampoo
What: Vitamin-rich botanicals gently purify hair while restoring lost moisture and shine
How: Work into lather with wet hands and work through hair. Rinse, then repeat for best results
Full size: The value stated on the info card is $32 and the value stated on the website is $36 for 8.5 oz
Sample size: 3.76 or 4.24 (depending on which price you go with) for 1 fl. oz
Initial thoughts: I love the Live Clean apple cider clarifying shampoo and use that about once a week. This sample doesn’t smell anywhere as good as the apple cider product I currently use, but I’ll give it a try when I’m travelling.

Mereadesso All-in-One Moisturizer
What: This one-step formula is an anti-aging day/night cream, serum, eye cream, toner, and primer
How: Morning and night, smooth a nickel-sized amount onto clean face and neck
Full size: $120 for 50 ml
Sample size: $28.80 for 12 ml
Initial thoughts: This moisturizer better be made out of gold to cost $120! This sample packet has a handy little flap on the back that allows you to open and re-close this product, so you can use it multiple times. I’m not a fan of the scent.

Cynthia Rowley Beauty Creamy Lip Stain in Heartthrob
What: A long-wearing stain from the NYC-based designer that gives unbeatable moisture and shine
How: Sweep over lips with the applicator wand. Repeat for a heavier dose of pigment
Full size: $23 for 0.17 oz
Sample size:  $10.69 for 0.079 oz
Initial thoughts: This is cute, but not for me.

Color Club Art Duo Pen in Sea Lavender
What: It’s all in the details: this nifty polish puts nail art perfection at your finger tips
How: Pull the lid for an ultra precise pen tool or twist to reveal a slender striper brush
Full size: The card says a set of 3 is $25 and the website sells them individually for $12
Sample size: $8.33 or $12
Initial thoughts: This is not lavender! The info card and the sticker on the bottom on the polish state that this is in the colour lavender. It is pink, not lavender! What is with the name? Apart from the confusing name, the fact that this can be used as a pen and a striper is really cool. I’m excited to give this polish a try on an accent nail.

Let me know in the comments below what you think about the products I got this month and/or let me know what you got in your box!

xo Tasha

Leave a Reply

