I <3 Skincare

Ahoy hoy!

I thought I would share the skincare products that I am currently using because I feel like I am finally at a place where I am happy with the products I’m using and know that they are working for me. I will start off by saying that I have adult acne, and my skin is naughty. I have oily-combo skin that gets dry in the winter. I do not have sensitive skin and can pretty much put anything on it and I won’t get irritated or super red etc. Again, these products are what currently work for me and I highly recommend them.

I had a Clarisonic Mia that kicked the bucket, so I bought a Clarisonic Aria. I bought my Aria in a kit from Sephora in May and they no longer have it on their site, which is sad, but is still available on the Clarisonic site. I love the Aria. It has 3 speeds (delicate, universal & powerful), an adjustable timer, a usb-universal charger, and a nifty stand. I use the powerful setting and sometimes use it twice (so for 2 minutes instead of 1) and find it really helps keep my skin looking good. I know that it is an expensive tool, but it really helps me use less product, get my skin clean, and helps with circulation.

clarisonic

My go-to cleanser is the Peter Thomas Roth Anti-Aging Cleansing Gel. I talked about this cleanser in depth in a March favourites post that I will link. I love this product and it is still a favourite. I am still using the same container, and will be repurchasing when I run out. A little goes a long way with this product and I love to use it with my Clarisonic. I feel like my face is clean after using this product and that my skin is less oily/greasy.

The Peter Thomas Roth AHA/BHA Acne Clearing Gel is a miracle product. At night, after cleansing my face and patting it dry, I squirt a pump of this gel onto my fingers and apply it all over my face avoiding my eyes. I let it sink in for a few minutes and follow up with a moisturizer. I’ve been using this for a few months and love it.

Sephora’s description of the product: This advanced formulation reduces the appearance of whiteheads, blackheads, and blemishes, while cleansing pores and helping to reduce the appearance of fine lines, wrinkles, acne marks, and residual discolorations. It contains maximum strength salicylic acid, along with potent glycolic acid complex, retinyl palmitate, licorice, arnica, and aloe, which support natural cell turnover. This product delivers proven anti-aging benefits, leaving skin looking smooth, healthy, and younger.

I feel like this gel definitely helps keep acne and blackheads at bay and when you do get a blemish it helps get rid of it quickly. It feels nice on my skin and does not dry out my skin.

facewash 003

Face masks! I love a good pampering session and face masks are always a part of that. I have 2 face masks that I am currently enjoying. I try and use each of the masks about once a week, so I get 2 masks per week. The first mask is the Ren ClearCalm 3 Anti-Acne Treatment Mask.

ren fask mask collag

Sephora’s description: This mask treats visible blemishes and leaves skin looking clear, calm, and even-toned. Powerful yet soothing, it absorbs sebum and gently exfoliates to decongest acne-causing blocked pores. Its antimicrobial action combats the spread of acne-causing bacteria while reducing the appearance of redness and pore size. It also works to lighten the appearance of pigmented acne scars. 

This mask helps with treating and preventing breakouts. I like the pump on the bottle. I am not crazy about the sticky texture of the product, but I put up with it.  It is easy to use, and definitely helps with clearing up blemishes.

Now for my favourite mask. I like the Ren mask, but I love this mask even more. The Origins Clear Improvement Active Charcoal Mask is amazing.

origins collage

Sephora’s description: A mask with activated charcoal to draw out deep-dwelling pore-cloggers. When environmental toxins, dirt, and debris get under your skin, its waste-filtering system gets jammed, pores get clogged, and skin looks cloudy. Nature’s complexion clean-up crew gets to the bottom of skin’s overcast condition and clears the way for it to act its best.

This mask works wonders at clearing out all of your pores. A warning: do not use this mask the day before you have a special event or hot date. I find that if I do not use this product regularly there is a lot of build-up and it all comes out after using this product. With that said, a day or two after getting all of the gunk out, your skin will look and feel great. I apply the mask after cleansing my face with really hot water (to open up the pores) and leave it on for about 15-20 minutes and rinse with warm water. It leaves my skin feeling really smooth, not oily, not dry, but just right.

To exfoliate my skin, I use various St.Ives scrubs. The oatmeal scrub is very gentle and nourishing to dry skin. I use this when I need a light exfoliation and hydration. The green tea scrub has fine micro particles that gently scrub your skin and help reduce the size of pores. I use this scrub the most often because I like the texture and it does a good job of exfoliating while not being harsh. I find it helps reduce blemishes and blackheads. The apricot scrub has larger grains in the scrub and contains 2% salicylic acid. I use this scrub when I need a really good exfoliation and when I’m breaking out a lot. It can leave your face looking a little red if you apply too vigorously, but really helps give you smooth skin. I love that these scrubs are so inexpensive and effective because it makes it easy to buy a bunch and switch it up.

scrubs

Lastly, I’m going to talk about moisturizer. For the longest time I did not use a moisturizer because my skin was so oily and everything felt gross and greasy on my skin. My sister was lecturing me and telling me I would get old and wrinkly if I didn’t start using one, so I did some research online and purchased the First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Face Moisturizer. This moisturizer is amazing. It does not feel gross and does not make my face greasy. In fact, my skin has become less oily since using this product, because it is regularly getting moisture and does not produce extra oils to compensate.

ultra repair

Sephora’s description: FAB Ultra Repair Face Moisturizer delivers the restorative power of FAB Ultra Repair Cream in a lightweight formula for the face. This quick-absorbing moisturizer provides immediate hydration with a velvety soft finish. Meadowfoam seed oil and avocado oil soften and hydrate while shea butter and ceramides help protect the skin’s barrier function. 

I like that this moisturizer is non-scented, non-greasy and that it absorbs super fast. It does not break me out and gives me smooth feeling skin. I highly recommend this moisturizer to anybody with oily or combo skin!

What are your favourite skin care products? Please leave a comment down below and let me know what skincare products you are currently loving and if you think i should give them a try.

Have a great weekend!

xoTash

 

Leave a Reply

