Too Faced: Better than Sex Mascara

Ahoy Hoy!

On a daily basis, I wear very little make up, but mascara and chap stick are my beauty must haves. I’ve always used drug store mascara, more specifically, I’ve been using a coat of Cover Girls’ Lash Blast followed by a coat of Cover Girls’ Clump Crusher for at least the past two years. I like both of these mascaras on their own, but love them together. Is it weird to wear 2 mascaras?  Recently, I used 100 Sephora VIB points and got a sample size of Too Faced’s Better than Sex Mascara.

The packaging states that after three coats you’ll believe in magic, so I did as instructed. My first impression was that my lashes looked nice, appeared very long (although I naturally have long lashes) and that they looked very voluminous, but kinda clumpy. I went out for brunch with a good friend for her birthday and as we sat down to order, my friend complimented my lashes and said they looked really full. I was surprised that she immediately noticed and was impressed. Later that day, I asked my husband if my eyelashes looked any different and he said that they looked clumpier than usual.

 My first impression was that the hourglass mascara wand was different and a little weird, but was easy enough to work with.  I really liked the look the mascara gave me with 2-3 coats.

better than sex

First impressions can be deceiving, so I decided that I would wear the mascara for a longer period of time and give a more in depth review. I’ve worn this mascara for about 6 weeks and I’m in love. I usually wear 1 or 2 coats of the Better than Sex mascara followed by a coat of Cover Girl Clump Crusher to help separate the clumps. I think I’m just stuck being a 2 mascara girl until I can find a holy grail mascara that can stand alone. While this does not meet holy grail status, I get a lot of compliments on my lashes when I wear this mascara and I really like that my lashes look longer, fuller and more dramatic when I wear this. The hour glass shaped wand helps to curl the lashes and they stayed curled all day. There is no fall out or flakes with this mascara. I like that the mascara is build-able and that by adding an extra coat or 2, you can get a very dramatic look.

 My complaints about this mascara are:
#1 This stuff is a pain to remove.
You need to use make up remover to get this stuff off. If I forget make up remover and step into the shower I end up with raccoon eyes. Face wash alone will not remove this stuff.
Complaint #2 is the price.
$30 is a lot for mascara, but when I run out I think I will splurge and purchase the full size because I really enjoy the look i get with this mascara.

If you have a holy grail mascara please leave a comment down below and let me know what it is because I would love to check it out.

xoxo Tasha

One thought on “Too Faced: Better than Sex Mascara

  1. Pingback: August Favourites! | Silly Rabbit

Leave a Reply

