Skincare Repurchases!

I am very sorry that it has been over a week since I have last uploaded a post. I’ve been busy with work and I am also taking an online course during the month of July that requires a lot of my free time. Anyway, today I went out and repurchased some wonderful skincare items that I ran/ am running out of. I have used all of these products in the past and they are staples in my everyday skincare routine. I love all of these products.

skincarejulywithlogo

Left to right: St. Ives Apricot Scrub, Body Shop Tea Tree Oil, Body Shop Tea Tree Face Mask, Body Shop Tea Tree Toner, and Clarisonic Normal Brush Head

St. Ives Apricot Scrub: Blemish & Blackhead Clearing  (with 2% salicylic acid)

I used to buy the original St. Ives Apricot Scrub, but have switched over to the blemish and blackhead version because it contains salicylic acid. When I ran out I knew that I would be repurchasing the blemish and blackhead version again, because I feel that it performs even better then the original. This product claims to “gently cleans pores and helps stop breakouts before they occur.” I definitely agree with this claim; this product helps remove dirt, oil, and dead skin cells from my face.  I have oily and acne prone skin, so the 2% salicylic acid helps to keep me breakout free. Salicylic acid is helpful in treating acne because of its ability to penetrate the follicle. It encourages the shedding of dead skin cells from within the follicle, helping keep the pores clear of cellular debris. In this way, it reduces the number of pore blockages and breakouts on the skin. The micro-beads in this product have a sand-like texture  and do a good job of scrubbing, although this may be a little harsh for some people with sensitive skin. I use this product about 3-5 nights a week and do not have any issue with sensitivity. I would recommend starting off by using this product 1-2 times a week if you have sensitive skin.

How I use the product: After I cleanse my face with my face wash I apply a small dab of the product on my forehead, nose, cheeks and chin and use my Clarisonic brush for 1 minute. If you do not have a Clarisonic you can just follow the St. Ives directions: “Moisten face with water. Dispense product onto fingertips and massage over face. Rinse with water.” Easy!

I purchased mine at Shopper Drug Mart for $3.99 CAD, but it is easy to find at Walmart, Well.ca, at local pharmacies and even at grocery store.

Ingredients: Active: Salicylic Acid (2%) Water, Juglans Regia (Walnut) Shell Powder, Glyceryl Stearate SE, Propylene Glycol, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Zea Mays (Corn) Kernel Meal, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Cetearyl Alcohol, Triethanolamine, Cetyl Alcohol, PEG-100 Stearate, Glyceryl Stearate, Cetyl Acetate, Ceteareth 20, Titanium Dioxide, Polysorbate 60, Carbomer, Acetylated Lanolin Alcohol, Fragrance, Phenethyl Alcohol, Limonene, PPG-2 Methyl Ether, Linalool, Methylisothiazolinone, Glycerin, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Fruit Extract

Body Shop Tea Tree Oil

I’ve mentioned this product in a Body Shop Favourites post, so I will just do a quick overview. For more information, check out the original post!

This has to be my 3rd or 4th bottle of this miracle oil. I decided to give this oil a try a year and a half ago and have been using it consistently since. The Body Shop describes this product as “targeted care for blemished skin. Can be used direct on skin or for facial steaming. Soothing, has antibacterial properties, and does not dry out skin.”

How to Use: I use this product in 2 ways:
1. As a spot treatment: I hold the bottle upside down and get a drop of the oil onto my (clean!) finger. I use my finger to dab the product onto any blemishes or problem areas I’m experiencing.
2.  I place about a dime size amount of moisturizer in my hands and add 2-3 drops of the tea tree oil to it. I combine the products by rubbing my hands together and apply all over my face and neck.
I’ve never used this product for facial steaming, but I am thinking about giving it a try.  Another way to use this product would be to place some product on a cotton pad and swipe all over your face.

This product seriously helps in banishing blemishes and when used with my moisturizer, I wake up with radiant looking skin. The only downside to this product is the strong scent. I’m used to it and it does not bother me in the slightest, but if you are unfamiliar and unaccustomed to the scent, you might not like it right off the bat.

The tea tree oil  retails for $9 CAD, but I got it for free! The Body Shop had a buy 2, get 1 free deal today. I also used my 10% off love your body discount and on top of that I used a $5 off coupon I received with my last purchase.  I got the tea tree mask, tea tree oil, and tea tree toner for $18.90 plus tax. My total savings were $16.10. The Body Shop has some great sales and discounts, so I try to never pay full price for anything. I got another $5 off coupon today that I will use towards my next purchase.

Ingredients: Water, Alcohol Denat., PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Polysorbate 20, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil, Limonene, t-Butyl Alcohol, Calophyllum Inophyllum Seed Oil, Citral, Leptospermum Petersonii (Lemon Tea Tree) Oil, Denatonium Benzoate, Tocopherol.

Body Shop Tea Tree Face Mask

Again, I’ve mentioned this product in a Body Shop Favourites post, so I will just do a quick overview.

I have no idea how many of these face masks I have gone through. I would say easily over 10. I started using the whole Tea Tree line at the Body Shop when I was a teenager. After a while I stopped using the line because the face wash and foaming cleanser disappointed me. I will try out a new face mask here and there, but this has been my go to face mask for over 10 years. According to The Body Shop “this instantly cooling face mask cleanses, soothes and refreshes the skin. Helps remove impurities, absorbs excess oil and soothes skin.”

How to Use: “Smooth a thin layer onto pat-dried skin, clean face and neck with your fingertips. Leave for 5 to 10 minutes (mask will not dry). Then rinse off with clean water and pat skin dry. Use once or twice per week, after cleansing.” Personally, I use this mask 1-2 times a week and leave it on for about 20 (sometimes even more) minutes.

The Tea Tree Face Mask retails for $15 CAD.

Ingredients: Water, Kaolin, Cetearyl Alcohol, Glycerin, Myristyl Myristate, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Propanediol, Alcohol Denat., Caprylyl Glycol, Cyclopentasiloxane, Calophyllum Inophyllum Seed Oil, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil, Cyclohexasiloxane, Xanthan Gum, Disodium EDTA, Menthol, Limonene, Leptospermum Petersonii (Lemon Tea Tree) Oil, t-Butyl Alcohol, Denatonium Benzoate, Tocopherol, Chromium Hydroxide Green, Iron Oxides.

Body Shop Tea Tree Toner

For years I have had mixed feelings about toners. Are toners useful? Do they actually do anything? Is it even working? If I had to give up one skin care product, toner would probably be the first to go, because I do not see any obvious results from toner, but for some reason I like this toner. The last time (before today’s trip) I was at The Body Shop, they had a buy 3, get 2 products for free deal going on. I hesitantly put this toner in my basket and decided to give toner a try. This refreshing toner for blemished skin gives a beautifully matte, shine-free finish. The Body Shop claims this toner “removes traces of make-up, cleanser and impurities. Mattifying powders leave skin shine-free. Clinically proven to give clearer-looking skin.” I’m not sure if this helps with blemishes or gives me clearer looking skin, but I like that it leaves me shine-free. I know, this hardly sounds like a rave review, but I promise I like this product. As I mentioned earlier, I have oily skin and I find that if I use this toner after washing my face, it leaves my skin refreshed and matte (not shiny). In the summer, if I am sweating or if my skin gets oily I just re-apply toner and the shine goes away. When I ran out of this product I knew that I needed another.

How to use: Saturate a cotton pad and sweep across a cleansed face and neck.

Tea Tree Toner retails for $11 CAD.

Ingredients: Water, Alcohol Denat., Corn Starch Modified, Caprylyl Glycol, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Glycerin, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil, Salix Alba (Willow) Bark Extract, Allantoin, Calophyllum Inophyllum Seed Oil, Limonene, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Extract, Sodium Hydroxide, t-Butyl Alcohol, Citral, Leptospermum Petersonii (Lemon Tea Tree) Oil, Denatonium Benzoate, Tocopherol, Caramel, Yellow 5, Blue 1.

Clarisonic Normal Replacement Brush Head

I love my Clarisonic. If you want a review/ more information on it I would be happy to do a separate post. I stopped by Sephora today to buy a replacement brush head. My Clarisonic Mia 2 came with a sensitive brush head and those are the brush heads I have been using. I decided to buy the normal brush head instead of the sensitive this time to give it a try and see what the difference is. Maybe this doesn’t technically qualify as a re-purchase because I am trying a different type of replacement brush head- but I’m sneaking it in anyway. I had such a hard time deciding what brush head to get because they all sound like they would be beneficial to my skin. I was torn between the acne, deep pore and normal brush heads. I might have to try them all and see what works best for me. If you have a Clarisonic, let me know what brush head you prefer and why.

The normal skin replacement brush head is an exfoliating brush head for the Clarisonic Skincare Brush. The Clarisonic Replacement Brush Head is perfect for deep facial cleansing, shave preparation, and for use on the décolleté and body. Clarisonic recommends you replace your brush head every 3 months.

The normal Clarisonic Replacement Brush Head retails for $29 CAD.

I hope you have enjoyed looking at my skincare re-purchases and that the reviews are helpful. If you would like to see all of my skin care products or a skin care routine please leave a comment below and let me know., While I was at the mall today, I made a few extra stops between Sephora and The Body Shop, so a clothing haul will be coming up shortly!  

Have a wonderful day!

~Tasha

Leave a Reply

