Baby Rattle Cupcakes

On Saturday, I made over 50 baby rattle cupcakes for a baby shower. I’m trying to start up a small cupcake business to make a little extra money and this was my first official paid job. It was a slightly stressful situation because I worked an 8 hour shift that day and had just a few hours to bake and decorate all of the cupcakes. Luckily, these are simple to make and I had some help from my boyfriend. I think they turned out fantastically.

What you need:

  • Cupcakes
  • Frosting
  • Food colouring
    ~I used Wilton Icing Colour in the colour pink (of course you can switch it out for any colour you prefer)
  • Wilton Sparkle Gel
    ~I used black, white and pink
  • Decorations
    ~I used pink gummy butterflies that I got at Bulk Barn. Just a side note: Bulk Barn does not appreciate you picking through the candy for certain colours, but I did anyway and got some dirty looks. Naughty me!
    ~Bulk Barn also had cute yellow duck shaped hard candies and even some baby themed non-edible decorations that you could use.
  • Lollipops
  • Ribbon
  • Cupcake liners

cupcakes

decorate

I began by baking my cupcakes and letting them cool for about an hour. You can use a boxed mix or use your very own cupcake recipe. To learn more about how I bake cupcakes, check out a previous cupcake post: https://sillyrabbit99.wordpress.com/2013/04/27/chrysanthemum-cupcakes/.

To decorate: 

  • Place all of the frosting in a bowl and add small amounts of  the Wilton Pink Icing Colour stirring until you are happy with the colour
    ~ This food colouring was amazing and a little really does go a long way

icing

  • Spread the frosting over a cupcake using a knife
  • Place the decoration (gummy butterfly) in the middle of the cupcake.
  • Make random polka dots with the black sparkle gel
  • Make random polka dots with the pink sparkle gel
  • Make random polka dots with the white sparkle gel

decorating dots

To create the baby rattle:

  • Tie a ribbon around each lollipop (I did this step a few days before I made the cupcakes and it took quite some time)
  • Use a tooth pick to poke a hole into the side of the cupcake (I poked it so that the lollipop would be coming out from below the butterfly)
  • Insert the lollipop into the hole created by he tooth pick
  • Remove the lollipop wrapper just before serving (you can also leave them on, and your guests can remove them themselves)

rattle

I packaged the cupcakes (without the lollipops, because they wouldn’t fit) into 2 beautiful white boxes with windows and tied them up with silver ribbon. I placed a business card on each box and placed the lollipops tied up with ribbon, some toothpicks and extra business cards in a large zip-lock bag for transportation.

rattlecollage

I was very happy to hear that the cupcakes were a huge hit at the baby shower. I was told that they not only looked great, but tasted delicious.

Please feel free to like, share, pin, leave comments (suggestions, feedback, questions, concerns etc) below or contact me at sillyrabbitblog@gmail.com
You can also check out my Facebook page: www.facebook.com/SillyrabbitCupcakes

Have a wonderful day!

~Tasha

One thought on “Baby Rattle Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Tampa Things To Do | Free Classified Ads Site

Leave a Reply

